“The Sweet/Salt of the Prosciutto and Melon Was A Taste I Enjoy To This Day. It Was My Introduction To The Magic Of Prosciutto.”

This prosciutto story was posted on our Facebook page, we loved it and decided to share with all of you.

OK, here’s my prosciutto story. ~ by Rich Sullivan

“I’m telling you, because no one else would understand it. Early 1970’s: I take a date to the Colandrea New Corner, an Italian restaurant in Bay Ridge, Brooklyn, where our Dad had been taking us for years, ever since I was a little kid. This was the first time I was there on my own. I was sixteen years old. We got  the menus, and I wanted to order what my Dad always ordered for us as an appetizer, along with clams oreganata: It was a big plate of deep-fried vegetables, all different kinds: broccoli, cauliflower, tomatoes, zucchini, asparagus, etc. But I didn’t know the name of it! Of course,

I didn’t have the nerve to ask the waiter, lest I look unsophisticated in front of my girl. So I looked at the appetizers, took a wild guess, and ordered “proscuitto e melon.” Minutes later, it arrived at our table: A big slice of cantelope, over which was draped–something, I didn’t know what. “What is this?” my girl asked. “Oh, it’s delicious,” I lied. “Dig in!” We did, and it was INCREDIBLE. The sweet/salt of the prosciutto and melon was a taste I enjoy to this day. It was my introduction to the magic of prosciutto.

P.S. What I was trying to order was “fritto misto.” My daughter and I had a platter of it at the New Corner on last Friday night.” ~ Rich Sullivan

Negroni’s Authentico Italiano selection includes:

Prosciutto Arrosto – a traditional Italian roasted ham made in Italy using only selected pork shanks and rich blend of garlic, rosemary and fine Mediterranean herbs.

Prosciutto Cotto – a traditional Italian cooked ham made in Italy using selected pork shanks and natural flavorings and is lighter in color and sweeter in flavor than Prosciutto Arrosto.

Mortadella
– a traditional Italian cooked specialty made in Italy based on a 500 year old recipe from the province of Emilia Romagna.

Prosciutto di Parma – the most renowned dry-cured Italian ham, made with the best Italian pork legs, packed in a strictly defined region around Parma, Italy. Parma is a beautiful Italian city known for its monuments, castles, opera and haute cuisine!

For more information about Negroni products please contact:

Negroni Corporation USA
13 Fairfield Ave. Suite 105
Little Falls, NJ 07424
usa.negroni@negroni.com
973.256.0033 Tel
973.256.1108 Fax

To print this article, click on headline. Using Internet Explorer browser go to File > Print Preview, click and

0 Responses to ““The Sweet/Salt of the Prosciutto and Melon Was A Taste I Enjoy To This Day. It Was My Introduction To The Magic Of Prosciutto.””



  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

Visit Our Website

Visit Negroni on Facebook

Visit Negroni on Twitter

Prosciutto di Parma

Super premium dry-cured ham

Prosciutto

Premium dry-cured ham

Prosciutto Arrosto

Roasted ham

Prosciutto Cotto

Cooked ham

Mortadella

Traditional Italian cooked specialty

Archives

Blog Stats

  • 31,719 hits

